Reaction: Re:ZERO – Episode 2

REACTION – The first episode was a roller-coaster of emotions for me. The main characters have died, it appears that the male lead is in a time-loop and a lot more of that jazz.

Re:ZERO’s first episode came down upon me with some shock, fear, and questions. I am not particularly good when it comes to dark stories that involves blood and gore so taking this anime series into my watch list was quite a bold move for me.

In this second episode, Subaru continues to unravel bit-by-bit of the situation he is currently in and I am not a fan of how he goes about it.

As I mentioned in my first look article, Subaru’s character annoys me a lot. He does not think about the things he’s about to do and doesn’t do anything about it. He is very much aware of his faults but just blatantly ignores it.

The same situation unfolds in this episode – only that Subaru may have somewhat broken the time-loop by altering some parts of the timeline. Instead of the killer, we are instead greeted with Satella as she knocks on the loot house door. It gives a bit of edge in the future as they expect to meet the killer lady who’s out for Satella’s insignia.

I am still quite stressed out by this series. There’s too much frustrations building up and I’m afraid of two things: will this be a consistent thing in the series? Or will it just be shoved aside?

Tension and dark elements are good, if done right. But sometimes, it is just down-right stupid and annoying without proper execution.

I will still be watching the third episode (much to my displeasure) to know more about how Subaru got himself in this precarious situation of life and death and the reasons why.

Overall, great episode. I hope the anime series continues to be consistent throughout its episodic cour.

Leave a Reply

